Conservation Awards

Louisiana Wildlife Federation’s Annual Conservation Achievement Awards



Want to Sponsor this year's Banquet?

The awards program seeks to recognize those individuals, organizations, and businesses that have made a significant and outstanding contribution toward the protection and wise use of Louisiana’s natural resources in the previous year. Each honoree will receive a handsome wildlife statuette. Recipients will be honored at a banquet held on June 9, 2023 at Ashley Manor in Baton Rouge.


Self-nominations are welcome as are those submitted by others. Nominees are encouraged to cooperate in providing adequate background information in support of their nomination. Nominations for 2022 are due April 9, 2023. Please see the current nomination form for instructions.

Program Rules and Procedures

  • Recipients may not be named in every category. Recognition will be based primarily on accomplishments during the previous year. Prior records may be considered, but this will be left up to the judges. Immediate past recipients are not eligible to succeed themselves in the same category of accomplishment for which they were recognized the previous year.
  • Nominations may be submitted via the LWF website at or may be hand-delivered or sent by USPS mail or other delivery service to the Louisiana Wildlife Federation at 8480 Bluebonnet Blvd, Ste F, Baton Rouge, LA 70810 by the deadline each year. An email with all relevant documents may also be emailed to
  • An essay of achievements for the nominee, not to exceed 1500 words, is required. The essay should describe the nominee’s accomplishments in that year (and previous years if relevant), including A) an explanation of their significance or impact and B) why the nominee’s accomplishments are important and worthy of recognition. Information such as past recognition, organization memberships, etc. may be appended to the essay. Documentation of accomplishments such as news articles, letters of support, photos, etc. should be included as a supplement to the essay. Support letters from others are helpful. If a nomination is submitted for more than one category, a separate nomination form and complete essay must be submitted for each category entered. If available, please include a photograph of the nominee with the nomination.
  • Nominations that do not meet all standards and criteria will be returned to the sender to be resubmitted with appropriate additions/modifications. Program judges may declare any nomination ineligible if proper documentation and supportive materials are not included. The decision of the judging committees will be final.

Award Categories


For outstanding accomplishments by a person who, in a compensated professional capacity, has made a significant contribution to the management, enhancement, or protection of  Louisiana’s fish, wildlife, air, water, soil or forest resources, or related recreational opportunities.


For outstanding achievement during the year in the management, enhancement, or protection of Louisiana’s fish, wildlife, air, water, soil or forest resources or related recreational opportunities by a person acting in a volunteer capacity.


For significant achievement by a business in pollution abatement, land use planning and management, conservation education/awareness, habitat stewardship including providing lands for wildlife conservation and public recreation, etc. (This category is to honor a company, not an individual person.)


For outstanding performance in conservation education by a professional or volunteer.  Instructors of hunter safety and outdoor ethics are eligible in this category as are teachers of the natural sciences, fish and wildlife management, environmental design and management, various aspects of environmental education, etc.  Emphasis should be on teaching and working with students or the public rather than on research or administration.


For outstanding conservation achievement by a state or local organization, including but not limited to civic organizations, environmental groups, sportsmen’s clubs, garden clubs, etc., in addressing significant natural resource management and environmental quality challenges.  In special cases where government agencies or institutions have accomplished extraordinary work above and beyond their normal responsibilities, such organizations will be given consideration for this award.


For outstanding work by a writer, reporter, radio or TV broadcaster, photographer, artist, cartoonist, radio or TV station, newspaper, website or other publication in creating  public awareness of the importance of environmental quality and natural resource conservation or making a significant contribution toward the solution of a major conservation problem in the state.


For outstanding conservation achievement by a local, state or federal elected official.  All Louisiana elected officials, except the Governor, are eligible in this category.


For outstanding conservation work by a youngster (18 years of age or younger).  The winner should have demonstrated leadership and accomplishment in any phase of conservation.


For outstanding conservation work by a youth group (18 years of age or younger) in addressing significant natural resource management and environmental quality challenges in any phase of conservation or related recreational opportunities.


For outstanding overall conservation achievement. This award recipient is selected by the judging committee from among the category recipients. Nominations are not accepted for this award.

Award Banquet:
Friday, June 9, 2023 in Baton Rouge
Ashley Manor 14214 Old Hammond Hwy
Baton Rouge, LA 70816

Scroll to Top