Edgar Veillon Conservation Leadership Corps in Full Swing

The Louisiana Wildlife Federation is excited to announce the 2024 Edgar Veillon Conservation Leadership Corps, composed of 21 undergraduate college students representing 7 universities from across the state who are passionate about Louisiana wildlife conservation.

The program kicked off in January at Chicot State Park in Ville Platte, LA. The 2024 cohort interacted with natural resource professionals from around the state and experienced the beauty and power of Louisiana’s natural resources. Sessions II and III will be held virtually with the fourth and final session held in at Baton Rouge.

Over the next four months, the students will learn first-hand about the state’s most pressing conservation issues while receiving training from current and former natural resource professionals in the public, non-profit and private sectors. Through integrated case studies and collaborative activities, these students will build knowledge in conservation policy while gaining skills in leadership and advocacy.

“I cannot overemphasize the value of this program to our state and to our efforts on behalf of conservation,” said Zac Burson, LWF president and board member. “For over 80 years, LWF has worked with diverse groups of stakeholders to protect the wildlife resources of Louisiana, and the Edgar Veillon Conservation Leadership Corps trains the next generation to address the complex conservation issues we face today and will undoubtedly face more of in the future.

This year’s Edgar Veillon Conservation Leadership Corps students are:

  • Jason Arena – Louisiana Tech University
  • Emilia Bertoli – Tulane University
  • Elisabeth Blackburn – Tulane University
  • Dinah Blount – Louisiana State University
  • Joshua Breer – Tulane University
  • Cooper Bruce – Tulane University
  • Katie Buc – Loyola University
  • Jenny Dwyer – Louisiana State University
  • Hannah Gray – Louisiana State University
  • Jericho Gremillion – Loyola University
  • Zachary Haydel – Loyola University
  • Taylor Kennedy – Louisiana State University
  • Emma Klenke – Louisiana State University
  • Ariel Mallory – University of Louisiana Lafayette
  • Brooke Mason – Tulane University
  • Fiona McClain – Louisiana State University
  • James Ramsay – Tulane University
  • Genesis Santiago – University of New Orleans
  • Abbie Sicard – Loyola University
  • Kaitlyn Thomas – Louisiana State University
  • Kailynn Williams – Southern University


The Edgar Veillon Conservation Leadership Corps program is made possible by funding from the Stuller Family Foundation.


Scroll to Top